CALIFORNIA

1999 California Boating
Accidents by County*

Number of | Number of | Number of
Accidents Injuries Fatalities
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*  Anaccident is considered reportable if- a person dies, disappears, or is injured requiring medical attention
beyond first aid; damage to a vessel or other property damage exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel.
Not all accidents are reported to the Department, due to either nonobservance or ignorance of the reporting law.

** Monterey County statistics are split between Northern and Southern California.

*** The increase in boating accidents in Orange County when compared with accident totals appearing in previous
reports is not due to an increase in accidents, but rather to an increase in the reporting of accidents to the Department.
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1999 California Boating
Accidents by County*(continued)

Amount of
Property
Damage

Number of | Number of | Number of

County Accidents Injuries Fatalities

- $2.864,000

TOTAL

* An accident is considered reportable if: a person dies, disappears, or is injured requiring medical attention beyond first aid; damage to a vessel or other
property damage exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel. Not all accidents are reported to the Department, due to either nonobservance or
ignorance of the reporting law. -




1980-1999 California
Boating Accidents*

1980 657 270 112 $2,039,800
1981 728 319 87 $3.655,630
1982 696 323 103 $2,497,000
1983 648 333 95 $3,713,100
1984 791 341 93 $2,491,700
1985 869 403 76 $4,246,400
1986 741 319 68 $2,645,500
1987 905 325 54 $3.381.600
1988 745 333 51 $2,396.100
1989 632 371 43 $3.669,800
1990 761 416 50 $3,131,200
1991 750 421 58 $2,653,800
1992 689 447 59 $4,360,100
1993 743 434 67 $2,052,800
1994 709 386 40 $1,740,300
1995 833 490 52 $2,536,500
1996 850 537 56 $2,241,700
1997 925 526 43 $3,266,800
1998 772 413 58 $2.299,600
1999 907 491 42 $2,864,000

* An accident is considered reportable if: a person dies, disappears, or is injured requiring medical attention beyond first aid; damage to a vessel or other
property damage exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel. Not all accidents are reported to the Department, due to either nonobservance or
ignorance of the reporting law.
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1999 California PWC
Accidents by County*

Count Number of | Number of | Number of Amount of
Y Accidents Injuries Fatalities | Property Damage

B Northem California AN o=
. TOTAL 264 215001 ey L]l s 447,550

- [l Southern California
*  Anaccident is considered reportable if- a person dies, wwwmmmmﬂmmwm«mdmoﬂwmtyw
exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel. Not all accidents are reported to the Department, due to either nonobservance or ignorance of the reporting law.
** Monterey County statistics are split between Northern and Southern California.
**¢ The increase in boating accidents in Orange County when compared with accident totals appearing in previous reports is not due to an increase in accidents,
but rather to an increase in the reporting of accidents to the Department.




1993-1999 California PWC
Accidents, Injuries, and Fatalities*
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1999 California Registered Vessels and PWC

' Total Registered Vessé|s
Total Registered PWC l,'irfludes PuC)

;GND_TOTA'L" _ 171891 | 954.716




1999 California Boating Safety Tips

Before Going Out...

Education

Many accidents happen because the operator did
not know some of the most basic boating safety
rules. The Department offers a comprehensive
home study course that boaters can order free
of charge by calling (888) 326-2822. The
Department also offers free safety information
including videos, pamphlets, and other materials
on such topics as PWC operation, water skiing,
and fishing.

The Department sponsors a number of aquatic
programs statewide where boaters can get on-the-
water training in a variety of activities. Visit our
website at www.dbw.ca.gov to locate dlasses in your
area, or link to the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary or
the U.S. Power Squadrons who also offer courses.

Maintenance and Equipment Check

Check that your vessel is in good working order
before taking it out on the water. Many accidents
caused by inoperable bilge pumps, engine
problems, and leaks in the hull could have been
avoided with proper maintenance.

Make sure your vessel is equipped with all required
safety equipment and that everyone on board
knows where it is.

Check the Weather

Many accidents could have been avoided if the
operator had checked the weather before
venturing out. For your local forecast, visit the
National Weather Service's website at
www.wrh.noaa.gov/wrhq/nwspage.html. Weather
broadcasts can be heard 24 hours a day in
Northern California from San Francisco on 162.55
MHz and from Eureka on 162.40 MHz and in
Southern California from Los Angeles on 162.55
MHz and from San Diego on 162.4 MHz. Know
your vessel’s limitations concerning the type of
water conditions it can handle and tell someone
where you are going and when you plan to return.

Once Underway...

Avoiding a Collision

Situation: Meeting head-on
Rule: Keep to the right

Situation: Crossing
Rule: Give the right-of-way to vessels
ahead and to the right

Situation: Overtaking another vessel
Rule: Give the right of way to the other
vessel and allow plenty of room

Docking

Be thoroughly familiar with the way your vessel
handles. Many accidents occur because operators
aren’t familiar with how the vessel shifts or how
quickly the vessel responds to steering or throttle
changes.

Operators should have a passenger act as a
"lookout” to help keep clear of the dock, other
passing vessels or people in the water. Speed is
restricted to 5 MPH in the docking area.

The operator and passengers should keep their
hands inside the vessel in the docking area. Severe
injuries, including crushed fingers and even
amputations, have resulted from boaters trying to
help fend off the dock. Even vessels that are
traveling at 5 MPH present hazardous situations.
The operator should ensure that everyone on board
is aware of this danger.




1999 California Boa: .. ;__';_-,_;
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e = Northern California
Boating Fatality

e = Southern California
Boating Fatality

Locations are approximate.

*  Monterey County statistics are split between Northern and Southern California.



