
 
 
 
 
 

Information Letter No. 01-06 
 

DATE:  June 15, 2006 
 
TO:   California Boating Law Enforcement Agencies –  
   Training Coordinators 
 
FROM:  DBW Law Enforcement Training Unit 
 
SUBJECT: Program Updates 
________________________________________________________________ 
 

1. Mary Thomas has been assigned to oversee the Law Enforcement 
Training Unit.  In addition to the Training Program, she will be 
overseeing the Abandoned Watercraft Abatement Fund (AWAF).  She 
has been with the Department for 6 years and has spent 5 years 
working in the training unit.  You may contact her directly at (916) 263-
8185 or by email at:  mthomas@dbw.ca.gov   

 
2. Suzi Betzler will be handling the Master Certificate Program, including 

the challenge process.  Suzi has been assigned to the Enforcement 
Unit for 3 years.  In addition, Suzi handles training registration, the 
certification process for all Department courses, distributing law 
enforcement materials (California Boating Law books and enforcement 
code quick reference books) and is the Enforcement Unit’s support 
staff. You may contact her directly at (916) 263-8183 or by email at:  
sbetzler@dbw.ca.gov 

 
3. Effective January 2007, the Department will begin charging a $50.00 

late cancellation fee if received seven (7) calendar days or less 
before the first day of the class and a $100.00 fee for no-shows for 
the following courses:  Basic Boating Safety & Enforcement, Boating 
Under the Influence, Accident Investigation & Reconstruction and 
Personal Watercraft.  Agencies with students who fail to show will 
be unable to attend any Department sponsored trainings for a 
period of three (3) years.   

 
4. Due to low attendance, Basic Boating Safety and Enforcement has 

been reduced to three course offerings:  Sacramento, Clear Lake and 
Long Beach.   
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5. Effective January, 2007, non-POST reimbursable agencies requesting 
reimbursement through the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) 
program will be required to submit a copy of the Enrollment & Material 
Fee Receipt for each student in addition to all other required 
documentation.  Per Diem expenses are reimbursed according to 
POST Plan 4 guidelines.  Please refer to our website at:  
www.dbw.ca.gov for further detailed information on this process. 

 
6. The Department is currently working with law enforcement agencies to 

develop an Advanced Accident Investigation Course.  We are striving 
to offer a pilot course in the spring of 2007, and make it available on 
the 2008-09 training calendar. 

 
7. Beginning April, 2007 the Basic Accident Investigation and 

Reconstruction course previously held at Lake Tulloch in Calaveras 
County will now be offered at Konocti Harbor in Lake County. 

 
8. The United States Coast Guard offers a Marine Patrol Officer Course 

(MPOC) each year at the US Coast Guard Maritime Law Enforcement 
Academy, Federal Law Enforcement Training Center (FLETC) facility 
in Charleston, South Carolina.  The course mission is to prepare 
boating safety professionals to instruct fellow law enforcement officers 
and the public in boating safety and to standardize training in the 
maritime law enforcement arena in response to the boating public 
while ensuring educational efficiency in the delivery process.  Each 
year, the Department is offered a few spots for California Peace 
Officers having less than seven (7) years experience in the boating 
safety field to attend.  The Coast Guard will provide no-cost lodging 
and meals at the academy.  Selected agencies are responsible for 
funding the student’s transportation to the Academy; however, the 
Department will reimburse a maximum of $1,000.00 for travel 
expenses.  For more information, please contact Mary Thomas. 
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